PSL 2018 New Team Multan Sultans

PSL 2018 New Team Sixth Franchise Multan Sultan
PSL 2018 New Team Sixth Franchise Multan Sultan

One of the most popular T20 leagues in the world of cricket, the Pakistan Super League (PSL) is set to become a 6 team event from the 2018 edition of the tournament. The tournament has been one of the most rewarding ideas of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). The tournament has managed to garner a lot of attention and fan base after having completed only two editions thus far.

The inaugural edition of the tournament saw five teams competing against each other. The tournament was eventually won by the Misbah-ul-Haq led Islamabad United in the inaugural edition in the year 2016. The edition of 2017 was a historic one for the sport in Pakistan but had a dubious distinction associated to it.

The 2017 edition of the tournament was also a 5-team competition that saw the Peshawar Zalmi finish as the champions after they beat the Quetta Gladiators in the finals of the tournament. The tournament was a landmark event as it brough back cricket of international sorts back to Pakistani soil. The finals of the tournament was played at Lahore. However, the spot-fixing scandal plagued the much success of the PSL 2017.

Now, the 2018 edition is expected to be bigger and better. PCB is keen on hosting more matches in Pakistan and that has already managed to fetch a lot of hype among the fans. The organizers had also already announced that a new team would be inducted in the roster.

The sixth franchise

PCB subsequently had shortlisted five names for the new franchise – Faisalabad, FATA, Hyderabad, Dera Murad Jamali and Multan. About a month ago, it all eventually was decided that the team will belong to Multan, owned by the Schon Group. Now, the franchise owners have revealed the official logo of the sixth team that is most likely to be known as the Multan Sultans. Expect the PSL 2018 to be bigger and better!